RSS

Post WOD Berry Coconut Smoothie

03 Jul

Paleo Smoothie

My dear friends and followers,

It has been 3 weeks since my last post. What…the… hell.  I will do my best to make sure this kind of blasphemy does not happen again. I mean, what is wrong with me? Sure, life is busy. But so is everyone else’s. I have made a promise to myself to do at least one post a week from here on out no matter how busy life gets, and If for whatever reason that does not happen, I expect an ear-full from you all. I mean it. An ear-full.

Anyways….moving on. With the 4th of July fast approaching, I decided to post this next recipe…...Mixed Berry Smoothie. ( Okay, it has absolutely nothing to do with the 4th of July, but please hear me out.) Every morning for the past 2 months, this smoothie has been my “go-to” for either a mid-morning snack, breakfast treat, or a post-WOD “pick-me-up”. Its great on so many levels:  the coconut milk provides a healthy amount of good fat, the mixed berries ( high in antioxidants and naturally low in sugar) provide the hint of sweetness, and a new addition to my “paleo pantry”: Paleo Fiber provides an extra dose of digestive stability.

Some of you may be asking, ” Why fiber? We should be getting plenty of fiber though our diet naturally through fruits and veggies on Paleo.” That is true…in theory. However, If you are like me, Paleo eating is not a problem, but making myself eat A LOT of good greens and veggies sometimes is for whatever reason. Also, most of us could use a little extra fiber in our diet. “Good Fiber” ( meaning the kind that comes from our fruits and vegetables) supports gastrointestinal health, has been linked to lowering “bad” cholesterol, glucose levels, and supports fat loss. I was introduced to this fiber through my chiropractor/ nutrition counselor with is ” pro-paleo”. The kind I use is called PaleoFiber By Designs for Health ( unflavored and unsweetened version). You can purchase some by clicking here. I wish I was getting  a kick-back for promoting this ( lol) but it really is very good stuff and the reviews on it are amazing. If you are looking for a good fiber supplement, I would suggest giving this one a try.

For more information on good sources of fiber rich paleo foods, check out this blog link

If for whatever reason fiber is not your thang, you can always use your favorite “paleo approved” protein powder instead ( or both…..get crazy folks).

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 1/2 cups of FROZEN mixed berries
  • 1/2 cup of coconut milk
  • 1 to 2 cups of water ( depends on how thick or thin you like your smoothie)
  • 2 small scoops of Paleo Fiber

DIRECTIONS

  • Add all ingredients to your blender and mix away!
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 3, 2012 in Fruits, The "Picks"

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

