RSS

Primal Apple Pie with Walnut Flax Meal Crust

23 Mar

Paleo Apple Pie

Its time for walnut recipe number 2!  Besides this being the second recipe involving walnuts, this also happens to be my first “desert” recipe that I have posted onto this blog. Get….Ex..Cited. This apple pie is delicious ( APPARENTLY.. I didn’t even get a chance to take a picture of it in one piece!) but I really think it is the crust that makes it. The crust was actually my husband’s idea during a Costco trip last month. We saw a new product: a big-ass bag of organic flax-seed meal for a good price ( have I said ” I heart Costco” yet?) and before you could say “Omega-3” I had the bag in my hands thinking of what I could make with it. Lets face it, besides smoothies, I really didn’t know what I could do with three pounds of flax meal, but then Jeremy said,  “Why not make a pie crust with it?” Lightbulb! Walnut flax meal crust was born. Disclaimer: Even though this pie is tasty, I recommend not to eat the whole thing by yourself. If you do, I promise in a few hours, the word “regular” will take on a whole new meaning. It’s a six apple recipe, folks. And last time I checked, nothing good ever came from eating six apples in one sitting. 🙂

INGREDIENTS FOR WALNUT FLAX MEAL CRUST ( Makes enough for 1 standard size pie pan)

  • 1 1/2 cup of walnuts, grounded to a “meal” in the food processor
  • 1/2 cup of golden flax meal
  • 1/4 cup of coconut oil melted
  • 1/4 tsp of salt
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of agave nectar

DIRECTIONS

  • Mix all ingredients in a medium size bowl with a fork until blended well. Press mixture into the bottom of a standard 9 inch pie pan and spread evenly. Place crust in the refrigerator until used or around 30 min.

INGREDIENTS FOR PRIMAL APPLE PIE FILLING

  • 6 apples chopped into 1/2 inch pieces ( I used Gala apples. They are my favorite)
  • 1/2 tablespoon of cinnamon
  • 3 tablespoons of agave nectar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cardamom ( Optional, but it gives the pie a little extra spice.)
  • 1/4 cup of coconut oil
  • 1 cup of water
  • 2 tablespoons of arrowroot powder
  • pinch of salt

DIRECTIONS

  • In a medium large saucepan, heat coconut oil to medium heat.
  • Add the 6 chopped apples, cinnamon, nutmeg, cardamom, agave nectar, and salt – cover with lid and cook for 30 minutes over medium to medium high heat. Stir occasionally
  • With 5 minutes left in the cooking time for the apples, stir and dissolve 2 tablespoons of arrowroot powder into 1 cup of water. Turn up heat on apples to high and add the arrowroot liquid to the apples. Stir constantly for 1 minute until mixture thickens. Remove saucepan from heat and let mix cool for 10 minutes before adding to pie crust.
  • Once pie is put together, you can eat right away, however the apple mixture will spill out when you cut into it. If you really want a “pretty” pie, refrigerate your pie for at least 3 hours before serving.
 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2012 in Desserts, Fruits

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Primal Apple Pie with Walnut Flax Meal Crust

  1. Nikki Fraschini

    March 23, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    I also bought that huge bag of flax seed meal and haven’t opened it yet – ha! Now i have something to use it for!

     
  2. Rena

    July 5, 2012 at 12:45 am

    UN-FRICKIN’-BELEIVEABLE!!!!! This is absolutely fabulously delicious!!!!! I am trying not to consume the whole thing at once… I sprinkled a bit more cinnamon on at the end while it was cooling to kind of add a bit more flavor depth. This is a great recipe!! Will definitely be keeping this one close at hand for when I need a dessert or to take to some function to sneak to non-paleo people. They’ll never know the diff!!

    I just stumbled onto your blog when I was doing a search for a paleo-friendly apple pie (’cause I’m just not that creative). I’ve bookmarked your site now and plan on trying more recipes. Can you ever have too many paleo recipes?

    Thanks!!

     
  3. Rena

    July 5, 2012 at 12:48 am

    Er…Should be

    UN-FRICKIN’-BELIEVABLE (sorry for the misspelling!)

     
  4. primalbritt85

    July 5, 2012 at 10:05 am

    Rena, I am so happy you enjoyed it! Yes, I definitely need to get some more Paleo desserts on here pronto. I am with you on the cinnamon….you really can never have too much cinnamon on apple pie 🙂 If there is ever a dessert that you are having a craving for and don’t know how to cook it paleo-style, just send me a message on here and I will see what I can do! I would love to try. Thanks again!

     
  5. Rena

    November 24, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    Hi Britt, I have recently come across a recipe that sounds amazing, but I truly am not good at converting recipes into paleo/primal friendly. I just never can seem to get the measurements right. So I was hoping you might be interested in giving it a try? If possible, please email me and I can type it out and forward to you. If not, I totally understand 🙂 Thanks!

     
    • primalbritt85

      November 26, 2012 at 3:11 pm

      Sure! I will send you an email with my information. If you can type the recipe and email it back to me, I will see what I can do!

       
      • Rena H

        November 28, 2012 at 6:58 pm

        Hi Britt,

        I don’t know if this is the email you were referring that I could send the recipe, but I’ll give this a try and if it bounces back, then it bounces back.

        So here is the recipe. Thank you so much for any efforts you can give in this matter!! I saw this when I was visiting my in-laws recently (yes, I was reading back issues!) and I loved how it sounded. Minus the flour and sugar. Anyway, thanks!!!

        This is from the June 2012 issue of Family Circle (my mother-in-law passed it along), last page. Candace Nelson who owns a cupcake store in Beverly Hills called Sprinkles.

        Chocolate Bourbon Cupcakes with Strawberry Frosting Makes 24

        1 cup bourbon 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder 2 cups all-purpose flour 2 cups sugar 3/4 teaspoon salt 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda 2 large eggs 2/3 cup sour cream

        1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. 2. Line 2 standard cupcake pans with 24 liners. 3. In a large saucepan over medium heat, simmer bourbon and butter. 4. Slowly whisk cocoa powder into saucepan until mixture is creamy. 5. Remove from heat and allow to cool. 6. Meanwhile, whisk sugar, flour, salt, and baking soda in a large bowl. 7. In a separate bowl, beat eggs and sour cream with an electric mixer. Slowly add bourbon and cocoa mixture. Combine on low speed. 8. Slowly add flour and sugar mixture, combining on low speed until completely incorporated. 9. Fill baking cups three-fourths full. Bake for about 22 minutes. Cool.

        Strawberry Frosting 1 cup whole fresh (or frozen thawed) strawberries 2 cups (4 sticks) unsalted butter, firm and slightly cold Pinch of coarse salt 7 cups confectioner’s sugar, sifted 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

        1. Pure strawberries in bowl of food processor. 2. In bowl of electric mixer fitted with paddle attachment, beat butter and salt on medium speed until light and fluffy. Reduce speed and slowly add confectioner’s sugar; beat until well combined. 3. Add vanilla and 3 tablespoons of strawberry pure (save remaining pure for another use). Mix until just blended. Do not overmix; consistency should be dense and creamy like ice cream. 4. Spread over top of cooled cupcakes.

        My biggest problem in converting (which I know, isn’t paleo, but whatever, I like sweets still; it’s a work in progress) anyway, my biggest problem in converting is the flour and sugar. And that is my biggest issue with this recipe. The bourbon and sour cream I’m not terribly concerned about–I know some are with the dairy (that’s a work in progress still too, but I’m at least doing pasture dairy so I feel better about it). I’ve never had good luck converting the flour or figuring out how much honey or maple syrup to use in place of sugar. And tidbit of info, did you know that confectioner’s sugar has cornstarch in it? I went through my cupboards one day when I first switched to paleo-esque eating and got rid of all the grains and processed sugars and so forth. Yeah, I went cold-turkey on the grains. And I just was curious about the powdered sugar and read the ingredients. So yeah, it has cornstarch in it. It’s highly processed anyway, but that is beside the point I’m trying to make here.

        Take care and thanks again, Rena

        On Mon, Nov 26, 2012 at 1:12 PM, Kill It and Pick It wrote:

        > ** > primalbritt85 commented: “Sure! I will send you an email with my > information. If you can type the recipe and email it back to me, I will see > what I can do!”

         
      • primalbritt85

        January 21, 2013 at 5:35 pm

        Hi Rena!

        I am so sorry for my lack in response.. I mentioned in an earlier post that some of my comments and Emails are ending up in wired places. I hope you can forgive me! To answer your question about this delicious sounding recipe…… I have been wracking my brain on this one! A lot of these ingredients CAN be substituted for paleo ingredients ( almond flour use in place of flour; agave or honey in place of sugar; and coconut oil or ghee in place of butter). However, I have yet to find a substitute or bourbon. Being that bourbon is a whiskey, whiskey is not Paleo. Since the recipe is built around bourbon, I don’t know if you could make this one “paleo” without changing the whole recipe. The only paleo friendly alcohols that I know of are tequila and maybe red wine?? Everything else is made from grains. I’m sorry you waited this long and I didn’t have a better answer! I would imagine these would taste fantastic without bourbon too…. Damn that bourbon! Thank you for posting!

         
      • primalbritt85

        January 21, 2013 at 5:37 pm

        Also forgot to mention. I get all my conversions for baking ingredients like flour and sugar at Elanas Pantry.com. This site is amazing!!! It will really help out in your paleo baking endeavors. 🙂

         
      • Rena H

        January 25, 2013 at 2:22 am

        Hi Britt! No worries!! Thanks for getting back with me. I kind of figured that would be the case, because I couldn’t think of another alcohol that would sub for bourbon either. And in the time of finding this recipe, sending it to you, and so forth, I’ve really kind of lost interest in it, which is probably a good thing anyway 🙂 One of my many goals for the New Year is to eat less sweets and treats (even if they are paleo/primal friendly). So far, I am actually doing pretty good on this one. So it’s probably best the recipe isn’t going to work out.

        I really appreciate your giving it some thought AND getting back with me.

        Take care, Rena

         
      • primalbritt85

        January 25, 2013 at 11:46 am

        That is a great goal to have. I think we all forget that whether or not it is natural “Paleo” sugars, fructose, refined sugar, etc – yes – natural sugars are better for you, but in the end, sugar is pretty much the devil. ( ha!). When we consume too much, it wrecks havock on our bodies and ages us faster from the inside out. Its amazing, the more i learn, read, and research- sugar abuse is really the root of many of our health problems. So, good for you! That is awesome. Kicking sugar is not an easy feat,I sometimes really struggle with it – even on Paleo. If you ever have any tips or ideas for curbing your cravings, you are welcome to share and I will post on the blog. Take Care!

         

Leave a Reply

 
