RSS

Mesquite Flavored Kale Chips

11 Apr

Kale Chips

I have a confession to make. For the last three years, I have been living a Paleo lifestyle and had not tried kale chips. Partly because I just didn’t get around to trying them, but mostly because they just did NOT sound good to me. Now, I have come a long way since my “Taco Bell” and “spray-cheese-on-Ritz-cracker” days, but lets face it; where I came from, no one chose to eat kale. It was that weird green stuff at the grocery store that was used as a garnish at restaurants. No one bought it. Needless to say I was reluctant, but after reading tons of rave reviews about Kale Chips, I finally tried them. Oh..My..Goodness.  Right now, I would consider Kale Chips as a mild obsession. They are very healthy, inexpensive, and super delicious with a great crunchy texture ( like a potato chip). Most Importantly, they are very easy and quick to make. Here is my recipe for Kale Chips with a  Paleo mesquite seasoning that I really love.

COOK TIME: 15 Minutes TOTAL TIME: 20 Minutes

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 Bunch of Kale ( or 4 cups)
  • 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of Extra Light Olive Oil
  • Mesquite Spice Recipe ( listed below) ** Amount you decide to use is up to personal taste** ( I used 3 pinches of the spice mixture for one bunch of kale leaves)
MESQUITE SPICE RECIPE
In a small bowl, mix:
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon of mustard powder
This spice mixture is great for veggies, steaks, and other dishes.

DIRECTIONS

  • Preheat Oven to 350 F. Take your bunch of Kale and tear off the leaves ( throw away the stems). If you have any large leaves, tear them into smaller leaves.
  • Using a large Tupperware bowl or container with a lid, add all of your kale leaves, olive oil, and mesquite spices. Cover with lid and shake very well so every leaf is coated with oil and seasonings. Remove leaves from container and lay in a single layer on a cookie sheet. (You may have to bake a few batches to keep them in a single layer on your cookie sheet)
  • Bake for 10-15 minutes in your oven. Once the ends of the leaves start to brown, you will know they are ready. It is important not to over-cook them though. Check frequently between 10 -15 minutes for doneness. Serve right away or you can save for later ( I prefer them hot).
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
