RSS

Butternut Squash Custard

18 Oct

 

Hello Everyone! I am so very sorry for not posting in such a long time. Life has been hectic, but wonderful nonetheless. Now that Fall is officially here, I would like to kick off my favorite of the four seasons by toasting my favorite member of the “fruit family” ( and yes, I did say fruit):  The Butternut Squash. This Fall/Winter squash has a sweet and nutty taste similar to pumpkin. It can be toasted, roasted, pur’eed, mashed, or used in various breads, cakes, and pies. VER-SI-TILE. I have used it in salads, soups, and even desserts.

Speaking of desserts, I would like to share with you this recipe that I found in a Rachel Ray cooking magazine. Now, Rachel and I do share a passion for, “EVOO” ( Extra Virgin Olive Oil), but most of her recipes are not known to be very “Paleo-Friendly”.  However,  this one is ( after a few small changes I made).  Butternut Squash Custard. This recipe does take a little longer than others, but it is certainly worth the wait. I made it last week and it was absolutely delicious! ( I apologize for my lack of picture I took one, but can’t find it……so I found this picture online of what it looked like when it was finished.)

 

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 10 oz packages of butternut squash puree
  • 1 14 oz can of coconut milk ( full fat- not low fat)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/3 cup of agave nectar
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup of crushed pecans ( optional)

DIRECTIONS

  • Preheat oven to 325 F. Mix squash puree, coconut milk, eggs, pecans, and agave with a blender on medium until smooth. Poor into 8 inch baking dish.
  • Put baking dish in a larger roasting pan that is filled 1/2 way with hot water. This makes a water bath which keeps the custard from getting a “rubbery” texture while baking.
  • Bake custard for 1 hour.  Let sit for 5 minutes before serving.  Best served warm.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 18, 2012 in Desserts

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
